Wellington Airfields of Bomber Command


This section denotes Wellington Squadrons Operational airfields.

Barford St John, Bircotes, Bitteswell, Blyton, Bourn, Bramcote, Breighton, Bruntingthorpe, Castle Donnington, Church Broughton, Cheddington, Croft, Desborough, Doncaster, Driffield, East Wretham, Edgehill, Elsham Wolds, Feltwell, Finningley, Gransden Lodge, Grimsby Waltham, Harwell, Hemswell, Holme-on-Spalding Moor, Honington, Ingham, Kimbolton, Kirmington, Lakenheath, Leeming, Marham, Methwold, Mildenhall, Molesworth, Newmarket, Oakington, Pocklington, Snaith, Stradishall, Syerston, Tempsford, Topcliffe, Upper Heyford, Warboys, Waterbeach, Wickenby, Witchford

*FIDO: To assist in fog dispersal, petrol pipes were laid along the edges of the runway. In foggy conditions, fuel was pumped through the pipes and ignited. The heat generated, caused the fog to rise, and the flames highlighted the outline of the runway. Many hundreds of aircraft and crew that might otherwise have been lost, were able to land safely thanks to Fido.
*Pundit Codes To assist crews in finding their base, each airfield was given a 2 letter code. This code was flashed in Morse Code, from a beacon situated up to 5 miles from the airfield







free hit counter